PositionOne
Making profit online

Have you noticed how updates from some of your friends and liked pages aren’t showing up in your news feed? Here’s why and how to fix it…

 

How to fix your Facebook feed

Share 

17 Feb 11 05:05  |  1 comments | comments closed

Utilities

 

Facebook has made some significant changes to the way users interact with Facebook Pages, one of the effects of which has also been a change to which updates show up in your news feed.

What’s happened is that Facebook has now allowed Pages to officially ‘like’ other Facebook Pages - a kind of ‘corporate’ like as opposed to you liking a page personally. To avoid these likes appearing in your personal feed, Facebook has made a settings change, such that only friends and pages you interact with regularly will show up in your feed.

Not too good if you want to make sure you don’t miss that once in a while update from you favourite band, artist, long-lost mate, etc.

What you need to do
Head on over to your Facebook news feed and scroll down to the (very) bottom of the page. You’ll see a link there ‘Edit options’.

Click on that and you’ll get an options dialog box appearing with two options in a drop-down selector to show posts from:

• All of your friends and pages; OR
• Friends and pages you interact with the most

The default is ‘Friends and pages you interact with the most’, so you’ll need to change that to ‘All of your friends and pages’.

What about all that stuff you don’t want? Well you can just hide it as normal:

Click the “x” that appears when you hover over a story you want to remove from your stream. Then, select an option from the drop-down menu:

• “Hide this post” will remove the individual post from your stream.
• “Hide all by [person’s name]” will remove the post and prevent all future posts from that person.
• “Hide all by [application’s name]” will remove the post and prevent all future stories from that application.
• “Mark as Spam” will remove the post and help keep your News Feed clear of similar stories in the future.

Anything you’ve hidden will be listed in the above dialog box. Click “x” next to each one you’d like to remove from this list.

Removing a profile from your “Hidden” list means posts from that person or Page can appear in your News Feed again.

Straightforward, but if you don’t know about it, you’ll start wondering why you haven’t seen posts from Joe or Jane…

 

Comments

1: posted by Richard Boyd on June 01, 2011

Yes, Steve, very helpful. Thanks, Richard